Travel and Tourism web directory: 7 resources.

Submit your site

Travel and Tourism Web Directory

Tourism in Australia brings the country over $35 billion, amounting to about 2.5% of the country’s annual GDP. There are many attractions which tourists are coming over for, with domestic tourism encompassing over 73% of the total annual tourism in the country.

Sydney, Melbourne, Queensland, Gold Coast, the Australian Outback, the Great Barrier Reef, Uluru and the Tasmanian wilderness are among the most popular tourist destinations in Australia. The Great Barrier Reef is the largest in the world, attracting sightseers and scientists alike.

If you live in New Zealand, you can travel to Australia freely. However, most other countries will require a predetermined notification of the intention to visit the country. Visas are often needed, even though citizens that reside within the Schengen Area and the European Union can apply for one online. It is called the eVisitor authorization and the forms can be accessed and completed online. Asian citizens need to apply for a similar visa, called the Electronic Travel Authority authorization.

There have been many advertisements created over the years, meant to be distributed on international media outlets, especially television. One of the most controversial ones was the 2006 campaign entitled “Where the bloody hell are you?” Tourism, given the fact that it’s an important resource for the country’s revenue, is highly regarded all around, with numerous programs aimed at promoting the country as a whole or a certain area in particular. People who have visited are encouraged to talk and write about their favorite destinations as part of the “There’s nothing like Australia” consumer campaign.

Aside from domestic tourists, the countries which have the highest number of people who visit Australia are: the US, Canada, Argentina, Brazil, China, India, Hong Kong, Indonesia, South Korea, Malaysia, Taiwan, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, France, Ireland, Spain and Italy.